Bier Markt

To celebrate finishing our first week of work on August 29th, Shawn and I headed to Bier Markt along The Esplanade in downtown Toronto for dinner and drinks!

Approaching Bier Markt from The Esplanade.

Approaching Bier Markt from The Esplanade.

From Union Station, it’s about a 15 minute walk to the restaurant. The construction around the station and on the streets made it extremely difficult to navigate some of the streets, but we got there eventually. When is Toronto ever not under some sort of construction… Am I right?

For a Friday evening, we didn’t have to wait too long for the wait staff to seat us (which is really good because I was starving). We wanted to milk the last of what summer had to offer, so we chose to sit outside on the patio. The patio was crowded with chairs, tables and umbrellas which were all colour-coordinated to fit with their colour scheme.

Our seats out on the patio.

Our seats out on the patio.

On Fridays from 4pm-5pm at work, we have what we like to call “beer o’clock” where we order cases of beer and other alcoholic beverages for the entire office to enjoy after a hard week. I had a beer before coming for dinner so I didn’t want to order a heavy beer.

My choice, Fruli.

My choice, Fruli.

Shawn's choice.

Shawn’s choice.

Instead, I went with the lighter option of a Fruli (strawberry-flavoured beer). It still sorta counts, right? Bier Markt believes that “Bier is art — an expression of passion and dedication.” If I come back, I’ll order a legitimate one. Shawn got the special that they had that day, but I can’t quite remember the name. All I remember was that I wasn’t a huge fan of his choice, but I loved the Fruli.

For dinner I ordered a vegetarian risotto. I have had risotto once in the past when I went on a cruise to Mexico and it was delicious. I also used to be a fan of Hell’s Kitchen where in almost every episode, risotto was a part of the dinner service menu. So you can say that I had high hopes that this dish was going to meet every single expectation I had. In my honest opinion, after I had a few bites, it definitely wasn’t what I’d hoped for. The risotto was a bit tough to chew and it was really salty, but I was extremely hungry. Food is food; I’ll eat anything when I reach that state.

Finishing off the first week of work at Bier Markt!

Finishing off the first week of work at Bier Markt!

Shawn!

Shawn!

Shawn ordered a poutine, which came out smaller than what we expected. I think our overall consensus was that this place is great if you want to order some drinks (preferably beer) and chill out on the patio, but you might want to take more time looking into the food menu depending on how hungry you are.

Bier Markt was a great experience and it was a good end to the first week of working in Toronto. I’m looking forward to seeing what else Toronto restaurants have to offer! If you have any recommendations on places to go, feel free to let me know!

Leave a Reply

